A. Definition Conditional Sentences

Conditional sentences is sentences if which suppose something desire of expectation and others which still can (possible) do not fulfilled [unreal] and do not form [impossible].

B. Kind Of Conditional Sentences

There are three type of conditional sentence, they are:

  1. 1. Type 1: Future Conditional

Expressing an desire of expectation and or plan which still can happened (possible) with formula:

If + S + V1 S + Will + V1 Faktanya
If I pass the exam, I will continue to university. Maybe I pass the exam if I study hard. 

Saya  mungkin sekali lulus ujian kalua saya belajar keras.

Form:

Main clause: Simple future

If clause :  Simple present.

Example:

If you study hard , you will be clever

Or

You will be clever if you study hard.

Simple Future Tense

S + Shall / Will + V 1

Or

S + Shall / Will + Be +…

Example:

1. We shall travel by air because it is faster and safer then the other types of transportation.

2. All of the lecturers will be in the office at ten o’clock tomorrow.

2. Type 2: Present Conditional

Expressing a desire of expectation and or plan which is unreal with formula:

If + S + V2 S + Would + V1 Faktanya :
If I passed the exam, I would continue to university. I don’t pass the exam now. 

Saya tidak lulus ujian sekarang.jadi saya tidakmelanjutkan ke university.

Form:

Main clause: Past future.

If clause       : Simple past.

Example:

If I had wings, I would fly.

Or

I would fly if I had wings.

(Andaikan aku punya sayap aku akan terbang)

Reality: I don’t have wings.

Past Future Tense

S + Would + V 1

Would: To express an action or habit which often happened in is old world.

Example:

– When I was a child. I lived in Kuningan in dry season, if the weather was fine I would go for a swim in a big village – pool.

Simple Past Tense

S + V2

Or

S + Be + …

Example:

1. When I was in Australia, I worked hard.

2. They were not happy when they were children.

3. Type 3: Past Conditional

Expressing an desire of expectation and or plan which is impossible with Formula:

If + She + Had + V3 S + Would Have + V3 Faktanya :
If I had passed the exam, I Would have continued to university. I Did Not pass the exam then. 

Saya tidak lulus saat itu. Jadi saya tidak melanjutkan ke universitas

Form:

Main clause: Past future perfect

If clause       : Past perfect

Example:

If I had money, I would have gone home.

Or

I would have gone home If I had money.

Reality:

I didn’t have money.

Past Perfect

S + Would + Have + V3

Is used as by main clause in sentence if (if – clause) type 3 expressing something have happened.

Example:

If I had seen you, I would have said hello.

Past Perfect Tense

S + Had + V3

Or

S + Had + Been + …

As clause in type conditional 3 if which oppose against what in fact happened in past time.

Example:

1. If you had come here yesterday, you would have had a good time with us.

2. If truth had studied harder, she would have passed the exams.

3. If I had been being by Mr. Shaleh, I would be the sent of a farmer Indonesian president.

Komentar ditutup.